a rickety bridge of impossible crossing

correspondence

Anonymous asks:

all-time favorite games?

So, I'm not sure how to answer this in a satisfyingly interesting way. I suspect that you're looking for more than just a bulleted list, so I'll try to provide a bit of context for each one:

So... I hope that answered your question.

Kite says:

Dear m;,

I just want to thank you for your blog. It really means a lot to me and it's there for me every day, no matter whether it's a beautifully composed train of thought, a Garbage Digest of jokes that never fail to make me laugh, or a sentence or less about writer's block. The constancy is everything in these tumultuous times (college).

You've introduced me to the writings of Tim Rogers (though I still don't know whether Tennis Monster is a real book-in-progress, or an elaborate Bit) and I look forward to watching his videos on the next rainy day. And the other authors you link in the Sunday Links article posts are always fascinating reads for one reason or another.

I was spurred into writing this by your posts about analytics. Not only did they really speak to me, as someone who sometimes writes and reads fanfic for an incredibly niche fandom where 50 hits is a viral post (goodness gracious I empathized with that "hit counter only went up because I viewed the page"), but because I had been following you on mastodon and then just dropped off the face of the fediverse, and with that post I realized there was one fewer person liking your posts. I just wanted to say, still here! daily reader of the blog!

Also, the large post lamenting the inability to disable analytics, with the very next day simply being an "Oh. You /can/ do that." spoke to me on a very personal level. I dunno, I think it's a human experience of the deepest sort.

Anyways, thanks for the blog. Take care, especially with the new spreadsheet shop happenstancings! Sometimes a slight bit of workplace stress makes for exciting anecdotes―my summer job at a halftimes-overstaffed halftimes-understaffed boating dock gave me some ridiculous tales, and a friend―but most of the time it's all one can do to stay afloat.

I wish you well!

Thank you so much, and I'm sorry for the delay in responding to this. Google Forms was showing me responses all out of order, so I thought the new message was someone re-sending an old message.

I think Chronicle of a Tennis Monster is a real book that may or may not be written down. He's talked about it so much that even if it was a bit in the beginning, it has become real; it might only exist in his head at the moment.

I'm still on Mastodon, if you decide you wanna give it another shot! I'm on gamemaking.social now.

The spreadsheet shop isn't quite a new development—I just passed my 1-year anniversary there in August—it's just so dull that I rarely have anything to say about it. I just thought, well, I'll need to write about these characters in my life from time to time, so I might as well give them names.1

Thanks so much for your kind words, and good luck with the ol' college endeavor! 🦝


  1. edit: oh, I misread, I see you meant new as in current events at the shop, not that the shop itself is new. Apologies.↩

#correspondence