a rickety bridge of impossible crossing

just another normal day

Happy 100 posts day

💯 Days! Wow! We did it! 🥳 🎉





imgur

imgur

imgur

imgur

imgur

imgur

Welp. Now what?

My first impulse is to say okay, I made it to 100, now I can relax a little, maybe only make a post when I have something to say, not force myself to write just for the sake of it. But it's become clear that sometimes, I don't know whether I have something to say or not until I sit down to write for the day. I mean heck, I thought yesterday's post would just be "here are some maps, here's why I'm making them, okay bye!" I didn't know I'd end up finding nearly 2000 words to say about them. Whether the words are necessary or not, well, if I start worrying about whether anything I write is "necessary", that's a epistemological rabbit trail I'd rather not start exploring for the sake of my own mental health, so to keep things simple, I'm going to assume that output = good.

On the other hand, it sure would be nice to take the pressure off myself a little bit. Not that it's a ton of pressure, because I can always just do a status update that takes about 5 minutes, but I feel a little guilty every time I do. And I don't know why. Would I feel more or less guilty if I skipped that day? Probably more. But is it good for me think of my motivation in terms of "guilt" in the first place? Probably not.

I dunno, what do you think? This is an official Request For Comment. Do you want me to keep trying to post every day? Do you want me to skip days when I don't have anything? Are daily updates annoying? Do you read every day? Do you only read sometimes? Is there anything you want to see more of? Less of? Have I made any major fuckups I'm unaware of that I need to fix and apologize for? I started this blog because I didn't want to get caught in a feedback/validation/anxiety/response loop with the stuff I make, and I think it's been successful, but it would be nice to have a little informal performance review every now and then. There are a number of ways you can reach out on the contact page, including anonymous ones. If you're reading this, please drop a note and let me know how you think I'm doing. It'd mean a lot to me.

If you're a daily reader and want to sponsor the blog, that'd really help out, motivation-wise. The more I can translate the work I put into the blog into some sort of tangible reward, the more motivated I am to continue. If you're unable or feel uncomfortable giving me money, I totally understand. Another way you can help out is word of mouth. If there's an article you think your friends will particularly like, please share it! On your own blog, social media, link aggregators, wherever you usually post stuff you like. It makes me really happy to meet cool new people who find the blog through their friends. I'm not going to advertise myself, or incessantly spam myself on fedi, or elsewhere, so this is the best way new readers can find me. A genuine recommendation from a friend is worth more than a thousand stochastic spam links. If you don't want to make a post yourself, you can always share on the fedi or twitter feeds.

I guess my current plan is to shoot for 200, 300, then finally 365. I'm surprised some random act of god hasn't broken my streak, but it's going to happen eventually, and once it does, maybe I'll ease up a little. But for now, I see no reason not to try to stay the course.

Whether you become a sponsor or spread the word (and thanks to those of you who already have!) or just keep reading privately, thank you so much for reading. Just knowing you're there means a lot.

See you on November 2! And, fate willing, every day in between 🦝

#status