a rickety bridge of impossible crossing

laundry cat

My apartment doesn't allow pets, but we have a lot of neighborhood cats. One Sunday (November 27, 2021 to be precise) a black cat paid me a visit during my outing to the communal laundry room of my apartment complex, and I bestowed upon her the title of Laundry Cat. She started visiting most weeks, and it became a ritual for me to post a photo on fedi whenever she did.

She hasn't visited me in awhile—the last photo I have of her was taken April 10, 2022. I'm hoping that posting these photos and letting more people see her will constitute a magical ritual by which I can bless her with protection and prosperity wherever she may be, and if I'm lucky, summon her for another visit during laundry tomorrow. It's May 14 as I write this. Bookmark this page if you'd like future Laundry Cat updates 🦝

log

05 June, 2022: no sighting 🙁

29 May, 2022: no sighting. Someone else was using the laundry room, and brought her little dog with her. It was very cute and harmless, but I still expect that its presence would've scared off any potential cat visitors.

We have a number of black cats in the neighborhood, and the other day I saw one that I think is laundry cat. It's hard to tell, but I think the white markings were the same. She's taken weeks off before, so I'm still hopeful that we'll get to hang out again. Maybe I should bring a can of tuna or something.

22 May, 2022: no sighting

15 May, 2022: no sighting

One day, we were visited by a second cat. Laundry cat was none too pleased with the visitor, and behaved in a way I found irresponsible. I tried to make Laundry Cat understand that she didn't need to compete, but she scared the second cat off and I haven't seen them since. I hope someday I can help Laundry Cat be more open-minded, but I still love her in spite of her flaws.

My phone's camera isn't the best, and the laundry room isn't the best place to take photos. The sun is usually blasting through the open door while the rest of the laundry room is relatively dark, so the photos are often blown out and low-quality. This one was bad enough that I tried to edit it to make it a bit more presentable. I failed, but by making it black and white and messing with the contrast, I was able to make it look even more grimy and noir. Laundry Cat, Eraserhead-style