a rickety bridge of impossible crossing

my computer won't boot

The internet was barely working. It was fine on other devices, so I decided to try a full restart and see if the wifi card needed to be reset or something. Now it won't boot. I messed around with it for a couple hours, changed stuff in the bios settings, tried the boot repair utility on the CD, nothing helped.

This is Izzy's old computer. She got a secondhand computer (thanks to a very generous person on the fediverse) which is new enough to run windows 10, so I inherited her old laptop. She's very happy not to have to deal with linux anymore (and happy with the computer in general, ofc.) and I thought I might be better equipped to handle it, but I guess not. I don't know if I have it in me to reinstall for the xth time and deal with another inexplicable but inevitable failure in a couple weeks.

I was going to write about how cybre.space is shutting down soon, so I signed up for a gamemaking.social account, but I guess I won't be working on games any time soon after all. I gave the chromebook I was borrowing back to Izzy's mom, so I don't know how much writing I'll be doing either. Oh well 🦝