a rickety bridge of impossible crossing

not pizza

🥇 Thanks to maya.land and goofpunk for sponsoring the blog! If you'd like to learn how to support my writing and get a shoutout here every Sunday, check the sponsors page. 🥇


I had a powerful craving for some sort of pizza-like substance, but it was too late to order out and I can't really afford it. We have a jar of pizza sauce, various cheeses, and pepperoni; but nothing that would make a satisfying base, not even for pizza bread. So I did something sort of uncouth: First, I made toast. Sliced wheat bread in a normal 2-slice toaster; I put it on a plate; I spooned on some sauce, sprinkled some cheese and topped each one with a couple slices of pepperoni; and I stuck it in the microwave for 30 seconds.

And you know what? I've been eating soup and sandwiches for the last week, and after that, I'll say that was totally acceptable pizza bread. Here's my main pro tip: put a generous portion of grated parmesan on top of the other ingredients before heating. The dryness will help counteract the greasiness of the pepperoni. Good luck!!

#status