a rickety bridge of impossible crossing

personal log, stardate... uh, july 14th

Hey, sol is a star 🤷‍♀️

puzzles

A few points of order w/r/t Slime Resgoo Deluxe:

computer

A couple years ago, I was thinking out loud on the fediverse about having difficulty finding a laptop that meets all my requirements at an affordable price. A very kind fedizen messaged me and said they had two older laptops that were sitting around, unused, and offered to send me one. I was blown away by their generosity, but I had money to buy a laptop, I just hadn't decided which one I wanted, and neither of their extras were quite what I was looking for, so I politely declined, saying I'd rather they go to someone who was truly in need.

Well, I'm now truly in need, so I messaged them and asked if either of the laptops was still available. They said unfortunately not, but they were planning toprograde/replace their current laptop shortly, and offered to send me the old one when their new one arrives. It took a few weeks for it to get there (due to supply chain stuff, I assume), but the other day they messaged and said it was finally there, and asked for my shipping info. I don't know if they'd want me to identify them here, but I can't express how grateful I am for them.

I've been using a chromebook that Izzy's mom has graciously let me borrow in the meantime, and it's helped ensure I can keep updating this blog,1 but I'll be very happy to have a real computer again and I'm sure she'll be very happy to have her chromebook back. Izzy is currently using the same computer she's been using for years, which recently stopped working on account of Microsoft deciding her computer was too old, and releasing a Windows update that broke it. I put Linux on it, which kept it running, but she doesn't like using it (and I don't blame her.) So once the new old computer arrives, she'll be able to use Windows again, I'll be able to use a computer again, and her mom will be able to use the chromebook again, and everyone will be happy.

phone

Oh yeah, I said I'd post an update on July 1st if any of my carrier's dire warnings about switching from 4G mode to LTE turned out to be anything. You could probably guess nothing happened, because I completely forgot about it. No difference whatsoever ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

international nonbinary day

Happy international nonbinary day! I'm nonbinary. Agender, specifically. I wish I was also international; the nation I live in will probably make it illegal for me to exist in a few years 🤷🏼

tying the knot

But hey, let's end on a happy note: Izzy and I have decided we'd better get while the getting's good, so yesterday I took the day off work and we went to get a marriage license. It's not official yet, we still have to find a judge to officiate (and figure out what we're going to do with regards to the name change, since we both want to change between 2 and 3 of our names, and that makes things complicated.) But sometime in the next 60 days, it'll be official. We're still going to have a small ceremony, when we can afford to do so and when it's safe, but we wanted to be prepared so we can make decisions for each other in case anything happens to one of us.

We've both known this is what we wanted since she proposed to me on our second anniversary this past february, we just weren't quite sure if we should make it official now or wait til we can have the ceremony.

In light of the changing political climate in the US, it's easy to imagine whatever judge is in place a couple years from now looking at us and deciding he doesn't think we look like people who can get married, so we're being cautious. I'm dizzyingly happy with her, and although I know our love is beautiful with or without the piece of paper from the state, I'm happy we're taking this step and I know it's right for us.

I knew she was the one the day that she noticed that my gender on facebook was listed as nonbinary, and I had my pronouns set to "they/them". I had never talked about it much to anyone in dirtspace, and wasn't hurt when people used the pronouns of my assigned gender, but she noticed. She cared. She asked me about it. She listened. Even though I insisted it wasn't a big deal, she's unerringly called me "they" ever since, and gently corrects her family members whenever they use something different. No one's ever seen me like she does. No one's ever cared that much. She saw in me a legitimacy I didn't even see in myself. She inspires me to be my best authentic self. She's made me a better person. I'm so lucky that this will be forever 🦝❤🐼


  1. And make puzzle games! I've been sad that I haven't been able to work on anything, but I've had a fully browser-based SDK right there this whole time. 'Tis the curse of the novelty-seeker to not see what's right in front of me.

#personal #projects