a rickety bridge of impossible crossing

plague talk

I voted. I don't feel great about it. Election day is the 8th, and I could take it off, but I can't give up a day's pay. But today was the last day they're accepting early ballots, so we got up at the crack of dawn, 9:00 AM, and caught the 10:00 bus to the courthouse. I don't feel like I accomplished much, but it's something I can do, and it's the least I can do, so I did it.

After lunch, we had a long, ominous walk to the bus station. The sky was invisible, clouds as far as the eye could see, but the forecast assured us it wasn't going to rain, and that remained true. I made it home at around 14:30.

Voting cut into the time I had been setting aside to work on projects, but I didn't much feel like working on anything today anyway.

I haven't felt great about a lot of things. Paula recovered enough from her injury to come into work on Thursday. On Friday, she tested positive for covid and went home. Who could have imagined, that going on a 2-week cruise, would lead to catching covid. Who could've possibly thunk it. It is inconceivable. I am utilizing sarcasm.

After I found out she tested positive, I called... contagion deterrence... and asked if I could take the rapid result test. One of the benefits of working at a... spreadsheet factory... with its own... contagion deterrence center, is that I have pretty much unlimited access to stuff that'll help keep me from catching and spreading covid and other infectious diseases. Masks, N-95s, vaccines, boosters, all the good stuff. They said there wasn't much point in taking the test until 5 days after potential exposure, but I was welcome to come on down. So I did. I tested negative, but while I was in the neighborhood, I figured I'd go ahead and get a flu shot.

I don't wear a mask at my desk. I'm sorry. I'm not made of stone. My desk is separated from Judith's desk by around 12 feet, and Paula's desk is even further back in its own little sub-office. Doris's desk is still vacant, so the distance helps me feel safe about leaving my mask off at my desk, so I can work in comfort, eat and drink normally. I put on my mask whenever I'm away from my desk, because I want to protect myself and anyone whose path I cross.

No one else is that diligent about wearing their mask. Paula wasn't wearing hers when she walked by my desk and stopped to ask me something on the way to get something else. I wasn't wearing my mask. That was the only direct contact I had with her in the day and a half she was back.

These sort of slip-ups are inevitable, and normally it wouldn't be that big of a deal, as long as no one does anything super irresponsible like go on a fucking cruise 🤬

I should've been more skeptical when she came back. I figured if she caught covid, they would've noticed before she had a chance to come back to work and endanger everyone. I feel fine, no symptoms whatsoever, and I've had all my shots and boosters, and our contact was very limited, so I'm hopefully okay. I'm going to test every day next week and be as careful as possible.

Well no, "as careful as possible" would be staying home next week, which I would love to do, but I can't because I need money to live. If I end up having symptoms and/or testing positive, I guess I'll be back begging for more money soon. I hope it doesn't come to that.

Oh well, at least I can go back to doing Paula's job for less money after she tried to give me a disease. I guess it's not all bad. I am once again utilizing sarcasm, a form of verbal or written irony used for humorous or emotional effect

Anyway, I wasn't in the mood to work today, so I played a ton of Daggerfall instead. Here's my character sheet:

I have 100 reputation with the archaeologist guild. My rank is still "novice", which is the 5th highest rank of 10, so that's actually pretty impressive. I'll keep advancing, I just need high enough relevant skills in addition to good reputation, and as a linguist, those skills take a long time to advance.

Here are some of my many accomplishments:

"finishedQuestEntries": [
        [
            "D:Discreet Text Retrieval completed at 12:26:23 12 Morning Star 3E405:",
            "Fredas the 6th of Morning Star:",
            " I met Vannyna Kingham of",
            " the Archaeologists Guild of Gothway Garden",
            " who sent me on a quest to find an",
            " ancient magical text hidden in The Belladausa Coven.",
            " I have 10 days to get it to her.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Busywork completed at 19:19:53 22 Morning Star 3E405:",
            "Turdas the 12th of Morning Star:",
            " Vannyna Kingham of the Archaeologists",
            " has sent me to Tricergon to",
            " find a Common Symbol somewhere inside.",
            " I must return to Gothway Garden",
            " within 23 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Map Delivery completed at 07:17:53 04 Sun's Dawn 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 29th of Morning Star:",
            " The Archaeologists Guild of Newtower",
            " have tasked me with delivering",
            " some map to another guild",
            " member in The King's Griffin",
            " at Kington Manor. I am to look",
            " for a blond-bearded man. I have",
            " 26 days to be paid 107",
            " gold pieces.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Lady Brisienna ended at 13:51:47 15 Sun's Dawn 3E405:",
            "Tirdas the 10th of Sun's Dawn:",
            " I met with Lady Brisienna in a tavern room. She",
            " told me that the three major powers of the Iliac",
            " bay are Daggerfall, Wayrest, and Sentinel. If I",
            " am to investigate the mystery of Lysandus' ghost,",
            " I should start by speaking with the royal families",
            " of these fiefdoms.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Regional Treasure completed at 11:08:00 22 Sun's Dawn 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 15th of Sun's Dawn:",
            " Gwynorya Woodwing of the",
            " Archaeologists has sent me to",
            " Anrarugoth to get",
            " an enchanted Bracelet.",
            " I should be prepared for anything.",
            " It must arrive in Newtower",
            " within 27 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Permission to Speak completed at 16:30:19 30 Sun's Dawn 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 22nd of Sun's Dawn:",
            " Gwynorya Woodwing of the Archaeologists",
            " has received word that Gondywyr Gaerfield,",
            " a fellow member, has found an object of",
            " value during a field excavation.",
            " In accordance with guild rules, he omitted",
            " his current location. I must speak with",
            " Morgausa Kington in Wildertown",
            " to learn where to go, and have received a",
            " letter proving my authenticity. I will",
            " be paid 275 gold if I deliver it",
            " to Newtower in 49 days.",
            "",
            "Middas the 25th of Sun's Dawn:",
            " Gondywyr Gaerfield is engaged in",
            " work within Ruins of Wickston Manor.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Borrowing Notes completed at 12:32:19 03 First Seed 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 1st of First Seed:",
            " The Archaeologists in Newtower",
            " have asked me to get research notes",
            " from Bedore Buckingwing, who is staying",
            " at Broadford. I should",
            " be back within 28 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Finding the Lost completed at 13:46:05 09 First Seed 3E405:",
            "Tirdas the 3rd of First Seed:",
            " Gwynorya Woodwing of the Archaeologists",
            " needs me to find Elyrrya Coppersly",
            " in Castle Necromoghan. I have",
            " 30 days to find her and",
            " return to Newtower.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Skeletons in the Closet ended at 15:23:37 29 First Seed 3E405:",
            "Morndas the 9th of First Seed:",
            " The Archaeologists of Newtower",
            " need me to bring some bones from",
            " Evelyrrya Cultus within 20 days.",
            " They should be in a sack of some kind.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Site Cleanup completed at 11:58:40 26 Rain's Hand 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 22nd of Rain's Hand:",
            " The Archaeologists need me to",
            " go to The Coppercroft Farmstead",
            " and destroy a revived mummy.",
            " I then need to return to",
            " Chesterwark in",
            " 20 days or less.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Evidence Lost completed at 12:34:32 01 Second Seed 3E405:",
            "Turdas the 26th of Rain's Hand:",
            " Edworyan Ashhart has asked",
            " me to retrieve a Ring from",
            " a former member of the Archaeologists",
            " and return it to Chesterwark",
            " within 27 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Petty Politics completed at 13:35:20 04 Second Seed 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 1st of Second Seed:",
            " The Archaeologists of Chesterwark",
            " have sent me to Midbury to speak",
            " to Alabyval Moorston concerning some dispute",
            " about the guild's place in Daggerfall.",
            " I am to return, problem resolved,",
            " within 128 days.",
            "",
            "Tirdas the 3rd of Second Seed:",
            " Alabyval Moorston refused to look at the evidence",
            " and demanded that I pay a 750 gold bribe",
            " to a clerk named Agrore Buckingsly",
            " in Tunbeth Hamlet to resolve the matter.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Tattered Courier completed at 11:50:45 08 Second Seed 3E405:",
            "Middas the 4th of Second Seed:",
            "Edworyan Ashhart of Chesterwark",
            "has sent me to take an old",
            "document to Elyzorya Coppersmith,",
            "currently in The Coppersley Farmstead.",
            "I should move quickly and guard",
            "it safely. I have 22 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Permission to Speak completed at 11:54:29 18 Second Seed 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 8th of Second Seed:",
            " Edworyan Ashhart of the Archaeologists",
            " has received word that Theodore Copperfield,",
            " a fellow member, has found an object of",
            " value during a field excavation.",
            " In accordance with guild rules, he omitted",
            " his current location. I must speak with",
            " Barbausa Hearthford in Longtown",
            " to learn where to go, and have received a",
            " letter proving my authenticity. I will",
            " be paid 497 gold if I deliver it",
            " to Chesterwark in 88 days.",
            "",
            "Loredas the 14th of Second Seed:",
            " Theodore Copperfield is engaged in",
            " work within Bedard Laboratory.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:On the Shoulders of Giants completed at 11:18:36 30 Second Seed 3E405:",
            "Middas the 18th of Second Seed:",
            " Edworyan Ashhart, the Archaeologists,",
            " has assigned me to find a Giantish document",
            " in The Order of Arkay of Burgmont",
            " and provide a translation. I have",
            " to return to Chesterwark within 38 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Dwemer Rumors completed at 15:08:42 07 Midyear 3E405:",
            "Morndas the 30th of Second Seed:",
            " The Archaeologists of Chesterwark",
            " have tasked me with delivering them",
            " an artifact of apparent Dwemer origin,",
            " with the appearance of a common torc,",
            " found in The Barrow of Stadivam. I have three months",
            " to ensure it reaches their hands.",
            " I should be wary of any traps it holds.",
            "",
            "Loredas the 7th of Midyear:",
            " This artifact seems cause disease to whatever",
            " possesses it. The only permanent cure is to",
            " get rid of it.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:The Cursed Finger completed at 11:22:31 14 Midyear 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 8th of Midyear:",
            " The Archaeologists Guild of Chesterwark",
            " need me to deliver a decrepit",
            " finger to Lord Bertram Spode,",
            " who is staying at Palace",
            " of Kirkcart Wood. He expects it",
            " to be delivered within 26 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Evidence Lost completed at 11:44:60 22 Midyear 3E405:",
            "Loredas the 14th of Midyear:",
            " Edworyan Ashhart has asked",
            " me to retrieve a Ring from",
            " a former member of the Archaeologists",
            " and return it to Chesterwark",
            " within 23 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Leveling the Playing Field completed at 15:18:13 28 Midyear 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 22nd of Midyear:",
            " The Archaeologists Guild of Chesterwark has",
            " sent me to The Mages Guild",
            " in Longmoth to take back",
            " some notes that were magically",
            " copied without authorization.",
            " I am to harm no human within,",
            " though atronachs probably don't",
            " count. I have to deliver them within 32 days.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:One-upmanship completed at 10:34:16 05 Sun's Height 3E405:",
            "Loredas the 28th of Midyear:",
            " The Archaeologists discovered",
            " a Mages Guild plot to fill a palace",
            " with monsters and demand payment",
            " to clear them out. I am to go to",
            " Ripmore, do the job myself, and tell",
            " the truth about the supposed monster invasion.",
            " I have 29 days to finish it.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Finding the Lost completed at 14:47:31 15 Sun's Height 3E405:",
            "Turdas the 5th of Sun's Height:",
            " Edworyan Ashhart of the Archaeologists",
            " needs me to find Theodastyr Wickcroft",
            " in The Demuchothulla Cave. I have",
            " 31 days to find him and",
            " return to Chesterwark.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:The Simplest of Errands completed at 10:18:23 06 Last Seed 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 15th of Sun's Height:",
            " I have been entrusted with the Staff",
            " of Magnus, a powerful artifact.",
            " The Archaeologists need me to deliver",
            " it to Andyctor Mastersly of Kirkcart Wood at Palace",
            " in 75 days' time.",
            "",
            "Loredas the 21st of Sun's Height:",
            " The Staff of Magnus has been stolen",
            " from me by a mob. I need to try to",
            " recover it, I should ask around.",
            "",
            "Morndas the 30th of Sun's Height:",
            " Bedyn Gaerhart, a known fence",
            " of stolen goods in The Unfortunate Skull Inn,",
            " swore that he doesn't know who took",
            " the Staff from me, though he knew it happened.",
            " He told me to talk to Bedistair Hearthhouse,",
            " who lives in Westmont",
            " at The Ashham Residence.",
            "",
            "Turdas the 26th of Sun's Height:",
            " The house where Bedistair Hearthhouse",
            " lives, if he's a real person at all,",
            " was a trap. On some assailants there",
            " I found some directions leading",
            " from a den called Privateer's Hold",
            " in Daggerfall.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "Turdas the 26th of Sun's Height:",
            " The house where Bedistair Hearthhouse",
            " lives, if he's a real person at all,",
            " was a trap. On some assailants there",
            " I found some directions leading",
            " from a den called Privateer's Hold",
            " in Daggerfall."
        ],
        [
            "Morndas the 30th of Sun's Height:",
            " I have recovered the Staff of Magnus",
            " from Bedyn Gaerhart.",
            ""
        ],

1

        [
            "D:A Noble's Debts completed at 15:17:25 13 Last Seed 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 22nd of Sun's Height:",
            " I have thirty days",
            " to find the deed that Theodyval Greenton,",
            " of The Mouse and Fairy, in Kirkcart Wood was",
            " given as collateral on a loan to a noble",
            " named Elyzausa Kinghouse, or to find the gold",
            " Theodyval Greenton gave Elyzausa Kinghouse,",
            " or, if all else fails, to find the",
            " nowhere-to-be-found Elyzausa Kinghouse.",
            " The collateral was in The Bank of Daggerfall in",
            " Lamton, before the bank was robbed.",
            " The only other place I've been told",
            " of is The Hearthfield Residence,",
            " Elyzausa Kinghouse's old place of residence",
            " in Woodwing Manor.",
            " If I am successful in any of these goals",
            " in thirty days, Theodyval Greenton will",
            " give me a large, uncut diamond.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:The Postman completed at 07:20:37 17 Last Seed 3E405:",
            "Fredas the 13th of Last Seed:",
            " I met secretly with Lysyvyra Gaerhart in",
            " Kirkcart Wood who gave me a",
            " falsified letter. I am to sneak into the",
            " The Restless Barbarian in Knightscart and",
            " replace the true letter. I have 50 days",
            " to complete this quest. If I am caught,",
            " I am on my own.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Skeletons in the Closet completed at 01:31:04 30 Last Seed 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 22nd of Last Seed:",
            " The Archaeologists of Chesterwark",
            " need me to bring some bones from",
            " The Stronghold of Greenhouse within 57 days.",
            " They should be in a sack of some kind.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:The Delivery Boy completed at 08:48:03 01 Hearthfire 3E405:",
            "Sundas the 1st of Hearthfire:",
            " Elyzyrrya Ashhart of",
            " Chesterwark has charged",
            " me with the task of delivering",
            " a package to Alabywyr Gaerham,",
            " also of Chesterwark.",
            " I have to have it there by this",
            " time tomorrow.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Business with Vampires completed at 07:20:42 08 Evening Star 3E405:",
            "Morndas the 30th of Sun's Dusk:",
            " Edwastyr Buckinghouse wants",
            " me to deliver a particular Holy Relic to",
            " his contact in Blackbeth, a shaman",
            " named Carolorya Hearthhart at The Order of the Hour.",
            " The local vampires apparently do not want",
            " me to complete the delivery, but I need to",
            " get the Holy Relic to Blackbeth within 94",
            " days or my reward is forfeit.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Weapon Supply completed at 13:57:52 16 Evening Star 3E405:",
            "Turdas the 12th of Evening Star:",
            " King Eadwyre of",
            " Castle Wayrest, Wayrest",
            " has sent me to deliver a Iron Shortsword",
            " to an ally named Belladolda Hearthhart.",
            " I need to have the Iron Shortsword in",
            " Belladolda Hearthhart's hands in 21",
            " days. The young lady in green",
            " can apparently be found in a place called",
            " The Woodhouse Residence in Reydale.",
            ""
        ],
        [
            "D:Busywork completed at 15:05:55 14 Morning Star 3E406:",
            "Morndas the 9th of Morning Star:",
            " Edworyan Ashhart of the Archaeologists",
            " has sent me to Alabywyr's Gaol to",
            " find a Holy Water somewhere inside.",
            " I must return to Chesterwark",
            " within 23 days.",
            ""
        ]

Pretty impressive, right? I bet you're pretty impressed?


  1. it doesn't say so here, but my reward for returning the staff of magnus was the dang lord's mail. That's right, I'm a pretty big deal