a rickety bridge of impossible crossing

the great debate (DVD extra)

Gore voters: It's pronounced gif!

Bush voters: No, it's pronounced dʒif!

Me, the Nader voter1 in the room: actually did you know that the gif format doesn't just mean an animated picture? In fact, many images people save as .png files would be smaller if they were saved as gifs instead, particularly images from old computers and game consoles that would have had fewer than 256 colors anyway. (you can get the same efficiency out of a png image, but often it requires tweaking the default compression and optimization settings, which may not even be available to you depending on platform)

Additionally, most of what we call gifs these days are actually just silent mp4s! You wouldn't want to post, say, a clip of a TV show as an actual gif, because the color depth would be lost, the framerate would be low, and the file size would be huge. I just wanted to clear up this misconception, because no one is actually using gifs but they can still be a useful format for static images

Everyone:

The year 2001: dʒifs did 9/11 🦝


  1. For the purpose of this metaphor. I was 15 in 2000, and if I could have voted, it sure as heck wouldn't have been for Ralph Nader. No, I was a John Hagelin supporter through and through. And if you ask me, it's about time for the Natural Law party to return to US politics. In this era of fake news and unprecedented mistrust in our democratic and medical institutions, who better to lead the country forward than a man who's devoted his life to better living through transcendental meditation? People of these united states, it's time for the healing to begin. Thank you for coming to my TED talk. You've been a great audience. No, please, sit down, I appreciate it but---what's that? You want me to run? B-but I've never been involved in electoral politics in my life! Oh my god, they're rushing the stage! Let go! Put me down! They're carrying me out of the auditorium on their shoulders! They're all chanting "natural law"! Why am I narrating this?! Oops, back to the A plot

#unlisted